2024 NHL Draft
2023 NHL Draft
Past Draft Pages
NHL Player Search

Looking for when a
player was drafted?
Previous NHL Drafts
Contacting myNHLdraft

4th Overall NHL Draft Picks

Here is a list of NHL draft picks who were 4th overall draft picks in past NHL drafts. Some players taken in the past with the 4th draft pick are: Ron Francis, Steve Yzerman, Paul Kariya, Roberto Luongo, Nicklas Backstrom and Alex Pietrangelo.

Select a number to view past selections:
1st Pick | 2nd Pick | 3rd Pick | 4th Pick
5th Pick | 6th Pick | 7th Pick | 8th Pick
9th Pick | 10th Pick | 11th Pick | 12th Pick
13th Pick | 14th Pick | 15th Pick | 16th Pick
17th Pick | 18th Pick | 19th Pick | 20th Pick
21st Pick | 22nd Pick | 23rd Pick | 24th Pick
25th Pick | 26th Pick | 27th Pick | 28th Pick
29th Pick | 30th Pick

4th Overall NHL Draft Picks
Year Player Pos. Drafted From Drafted By
2013 Seth Jones D Portland (WHL) Nashville Predators
2012 Griffin Reinhart D Edmonton (WHL) New York Islanders
2011 Adam Larsson D Skelleftea AIK (Swe) New Jersey Devils
2010 Ryan Johansen C Portland (WHL) Columbus Blue Jackets
2009 Evander Kane C Vancouver (WHL) Atlanta Thrashers
2008 Alex Pietrangelo D Niagara (OHL) St. Louis Blues
2007 Thomas Hickey D Seattle (WHL) Los Angeles Kings
2006 Nicklas Backstrom C Brynas (Swe) Washington Capitals
2005 Benoit Pouliot LW Sudbury Wolves (OHL) Minnesota Wild
2004 Andrew Ladd LW Calgary Hitmen (WHL) Carolina Hurricanes
2003 Nikolai Zherdev RW CSKA Moscow (Russia) Columbus Blue Jackets
2002 Joni Pitkanen D Karpat (FNL) Philadelphia Flyers
2001 Stephen Weiss C Plymouth Whalers (OHL) Florida Panthers
2000 Rostislav Klesla D Brampton Battalion (OHL) Columbus Blue Jackets
1999 Pavel Brendl RW Calgary Hitmen (WHL) New York Rangers
1998 Bryan Allen D Oshawa Generals (OHL) Vancouver Canucks
1997 Roberto Luongo G Val-d'Or Foreurs (QMJHL) New York Islanders
1996 Alexandre Volchkov RW Barrie Colts (OHL) Washington Capitals
1995 Chad Kilger C Kingston Frontenacs (OHL) Anaheim Ducks
1994 Jason Bonsignore C Niagara-Falls Thunder (OHL) Edmonton Oilers
1993 Paul Kariya LW U. of Maine (NCAA) Anaheim Ducks
1992 Todd Warriner LW Windsor Spitfires (OHL) Quebuc Nordiques
1991 Scott Lachance D Boston University (NCAA) New York Islanders
1990 Mike Ricci C Peterborough Petes (OHL) Philadelphia Flyers
1989 Stu Barnes C Tri-City Americans (WHL) Winnipeg Jets
1988 Darrin Shannon LW Windsor Spitfires (OHL) Pittsburgh Penguins
1987 Wayne McBean D Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL) Los Angeles Kings
1986 Zarley Zalapski D Canadian National Team (Intl) Pittsburgh Penguins
1985 Jim Sandlak RW London Knights (OHL) Vancouver Canucks
1984 Al Iafrate D Belleville Bulls (OHL) Toronto Maple Leafs
1983 Steve Yzerman C Peterborough Petes (OHL) Detroit Red Wings
1981 Ron Francis C Sault-Ste.-Marie Greyhounds (OHL) Hartford Whalers
1980 Larry Murphy D Peterborough Petes (OHA) Los Angeles Kings